Schools Programs - Eliot S. Berkley Award
Share |

Eliot S. Berkley Award 

Each year, the International Relations Council presents the award to an exceptional high school junior or senior who has demonstrated superior academic interest and competence in international studies. The award includes a $500 scholarship. The runner-up receives a $250 scholarship.

We are thrilled to announce the 2015-2016 award winners:

Marcus Leong, Olathe Northwest High School

Runner-up: Nathalie Kiersznowski, Pembroke Hill High School

2015-2016 Essay Topics

Write an essay using 1200-1500 words on one of the following topics:

  • Consider the humanitarian challenges that have arisen from the crisis in Syria. Describe the steps taken by the United States to resolve this humanitarian crisis. Do you agree or disagree with United States’ position? Explain why.
  • Select one Democratic and one Republican presidential candidate. Describe each candidate’s stance on US foreign policy with Iran. Do you agree or disagree with his/her stance? Explain why.


Past Berkley Award Winners

2014-15: Stefan Petrovic, Lawrence High School

                 Runner-up: Zachary Klamann, Rockhurst High School 

2013-14: Therin Showalter, Kearney High School
               Runner-up: Kathleen Harding, Olathe Northwest High School

2013: Claire Thomas, Shawnee Mission South High School
               Runner-up: Whitney Horn, Olathe North High School

2012: Felix Albl, Lansing High School
               Runner-up: Ashley Hung, Shawnee Mission South High School

2010: Sam Reichman, Shawnee Mission South High School
               Runner-up: Marquitta Hall, Lincoln College Preparatory Academy

2009: Shawn Gunn, Blue Springs High School
               Runner-up: Chelsey Clark, Plate County R-3 High School
2008: Edward "Ted" Hart, Rockhurst High School
               Runner-up: Libby Maese, Shawnee Mission Center for International Studies

2007: Mark Thomas: Shawnee Mission Center for International Studies

2006: Anthony Badami, Rockhurst High School
               Runner-up: Steffi Krull, Blue Valley High School
2005: Rachel Voss, Shawnee Mission Center for International Studies
               Runner-up: Kathleen Rice, Lee's Summit West High School

2004: Courtney Robbins, Lee's Summit North High School
               Runner-up: Andrew Green, Oak Park High School

2003: Jason Humphrey, Shawnee Mission North High School
               Runner-up: Valerie Tarbutton, Olathe East High School

2002: Lilia Toson, Winnetonka High School

2001: Matt Knuth, Parkhill South High School

2000: Anna Hold, Shawnee Mission West High School

Sign In


IRC Book Club: The Retreat of Western Liberalism

2017 Global Honors Evening

Latest News